#BlogTour The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan

I have already recommended this book to so many of my book-loving friends! If you love psychological thrillers then it is most certainly a book for your TBR list.

The Blurb

When you hear her story, will you believe her?

Rose Marlowe is a hard-working nurse, a loving wife, and a merciless killer. Or so she says. Despite her confession, it is hard to believe that this beautiful, kind woman could have killed her vulnerable patient in cold blood.

Down-on-his luck author and ex-journalist, Theo Hazel, is convinced that there’s more to what happened than Rose is telling, and so decides to visit her behind bars to write her story. His first surprise comes when Rose reveals that the victim was not a stranger to her. 

As time goes on, it seems that Rose is letting Theo see behind her perfect mask. With each new visit, he learns terrible new things about her heart-breaking past. With each new visit, he becomes more and more convinced that she can’t be a killer. But is he trying to free an innocent victim, or falling prey to a calculating murderer?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Shari Lapena and JP Delaney.

My Thoughts

It has been a while since I have read a psychological thriller as good as ‘The Nurse’. I found the story very original and was gripped from the very first page, it really was difficult to put it down.

Rose is the main character and I think any reader would struggle to dislike her, despite her confessing to a murder. From the beginning something didn’t ring true about her crime and you know right away that there is more to the story than it would first appear. She shares her story with Theo, an author who wants to write her story and Rose opens up to him as the book progresses, sharing extremely relevant information about her past. The story unfolds through their meetings and Theo’s subsequent research and interviews with members of Rose’s family and old acquaintances. I found myself racing through the pages and unable to stop at the end of a chapter as I needed to find out what happened next. Then just as I thought I had worked it all out another twist was thrown in which completely shattered my assumptions.

Throughout the book there were so many characters I couldn’t quite work out and just as I felt I had they would morph into something else in entirely and once more completely throw me off working out what was happening.

‘The Nurse’ is one of those books that you can’t stop thinking about long after you have closed the last page. It is compelling, full of twists and an absolute must read.

About the Author

Julie-Ann Corrigan was born in Mansfield, Nottinghamshire. She studied in London, completing a BA (Hons) Humanities degree, majoring in Modern History and English Literature. Travelling in Europe for several years, she taught in both Greece and Spain – countries and cultures she found fascinating. On return to the UK she gained a BSc (Physiotherapy), becoming a Chartered Physiotherapist. She lives in Berkshire with her family.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/juliannwriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jacorrigan

Website: http://jacorrigan.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/juleshayes6/

Buy your copy now…

Published by charismaticcritic

Book Reviewer | Book Lover, Tea Lover, Biscuit Lover, Book Blogger, Teacher #bookreview #bookblogger OPEN for requests

One thought on “#BlogTour The Nurse by J.A. Corrigan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: